M/Y Steve Irwin

History of our flagship

On December 5, 2007 just before the 2007-2008 Antarctic Whale Defense Campaign Operation Migaloo, the Sea Shepherd vessel M/Y Robert Hunter was officially re-named the M/Y Steve Irwin in honour of the late Australian conservationist, by Captain Paul Watson.

The ship, formerly known as the M/Y Robert Hunter, was originally named after Canadian Robert Hunter, who along with the Founder of Sea Shepherd Captain Paul Watson, was a co-founder of Greenpeace. The new ship joined Sea Shepherd's flagship Farley Mowat in the Ross Sea of Antarctica with over 60 international volunteer crewmembers, a helicopter, and numerous smaller vessels.

The ship has carried over 800 volunteer crew, from all over the world and has been captained by:

Captain Paul Watson - the inaugural captain of the M/Y Steve Irwin
Captain Siddharth Chakravarty - Operation Zero Tolerance, Operation Relentless, Operation Icefish II, Operation Driftnet
Captain Wyanda Lublink - Operation Nemesis, Operation Jeedara 1
Captain Malcolm Holland - Operation Kimberley Miinimbi, Operation Reef Defence
Captain Anteo Broadfield - Operation Jeedara 2
Captain Tim Abel - Operation Reef Defence

The History of the M/Y Steve Irwin

View the history of the M/Y Steve Irwin through these amazing images of the ship taken throughout its history with Sea Shepherd.  

Take Action for the Oceans!

We Need Your Support